• The Child Safe Standards have been introduced by Victorian State Government as a compulsory, minimum standard of safety in all organisations providing services to children. The Standards aim to drive cultural change in organisations, so that protecting children from abuse is embedded in everyday thinking and practice. Each of the Standards must also be understood and applied with the context of the following in mind.
  • The cultural safety of Aboriginal children
  • The cultural safety of children from a culturally and/or linguistically diverse background
  • The safety of children with a disability

The seven standards are:

Standard 1
Strategies to embed an organisational culture of child safety, including through effective leadership arrangements.

Standard 2
A child safe policy or statement of commitment to child safety.

Standard 3
A code of conduct that establishes clear expectations for appropriate behaviour with children.

Standard 4
Screening, supervision, training and other human resources practices that reduce the risk of child abuse by new and existing personnel.

Standard 5
Processes for responding to and reporting suspected child abuse.

Standard 6
Strategies to identify and reduce or remove risks of child abuse.

Standard 7
Strategies to promote the participation and empowerment of children.

Further information on the Child Safe Standards can be found on the Commission for Children and Young People (CCYP) website.

Any queries can be directed to the WJFC Child Safety Officer, Suzanna Paxton.

AFL Victoria is committed to promoting and protecting the safety and well-being of children and young people
in our care. We seek to promote and protect the rights of all children in our care and prevent abuse from
occurring by fostering a child safe culture. All Victorian Leagues, Clubs & Associations that provide football to
children and young people will present environments and experiences that always consider and put measures
in place to ensure the safety of children.


Safeguarding_Children_andYoung_People_Commitment Statement


YJFL.Child Safety & Wellbeing Policy


Your content goes here. Edit or remove this text inline or in the module Content settings. You can also style every aspect of this content in the module Design settings and even apply custom CSS to this text in the module Advanced settings.